eventseekr Shuffle: Bright 11-1-11

I like making mix-CDs for road-trips, for my friends with music I think they would enjoy, and also for myself. Every once in a while, when I really get into compiling a particular mix, I wonder just how obsessive compulsive I get about this. It’s also no small wonder that one of my favorite books is Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, and that I also like the adapted movie of the same title that stars John Cusack.

The lead character, Rob, explains that there are many rules and guidelines to compiling a mixtape. Chief among them is that putting one together is like writing a letter. Well, being that I am a cinema nerd, and even went to school for it, I see making a mixtape as putting a story together using common themes that hold all of these songs together, and working with a narrative that guides you from Point A to Point B. 

For this particular narrative, I’ve put together 13 songs that will hopefully brighten your day should you feel beaten down, angry, disappointed, or what have you.

Whatever your disposition is to begin with, it’s best to let it all out.  The Bloody Beetroots‘ “WARP 1.9” will probably make the meekest of people want to start throwing some elbows and kicking down big redwoods with their bare feet. The Clash‘s inclusion in this list is very purposeful, just like the music they made and are known for. “Straight to Hell” is a song that is very heavy with its lyrics about injustices of all kinds, and along the lines of this narrative, is meant to represent a sort of reflection of yourself and everything that surrounds.

By the time MSTRKRFT and John Legend‘s “Heartbreaker” hits the speakers, all the negative energy should almost be out of your system. If not, then use this time to take one last look around, because with Prince and “Let’s Go Crazy,” it’s all about forward thinking.

Basically, there’s only one thing to do whilst listening to Spoon‘s “Don’t You Evah”: strut. If I ever won a $100 million dollar poker tournament, I’d strut to this song immediately after. If  I had just bought a $100,000 car in cash, I’d strut my way from the driveway to the front door after driving it home. If I just got the phone number of the really good looking girl at the bar that I’ve been making eye contact with all night, I’d envision myself strutting the rest of the night with this song stuck in my head. In this mixtape, “Don’t You Evah” is meant to inspire any confidence you might be lacking.

Within the last year and a half, Duck Sauce‘s “Barbra Streisand” has become this huge, juggernaut cross-over hit. One big reason is that it is a song that just doesn’t take itself too seriously. Take a look at a few of Daft Punk‘s music videos, like “Da Funk” and “Around the World,” or Justice‘s “D.A.N.C.E.” and Duck Sauce’s newest release, “Big Bad Wolf.” Let Duck Sauce help you remember that it’s okay to want to have some fun. Just make sure you’re not watching “Big Bad Wolf” while at work in the office. Trust me.

If the transition from the Clash into MSTRKRFT and then Prince represents a transition from the first act to the second, then Duck Sauce into Friendly Fires‘ “Hawaiian Air” represents the transition into act three. Gone is the anger, the pain and the strife. Now you’re ready to move on to bigger and better things, and new adventures.

 

I’ve told friends over and over that Gorillaz‘s “On Melancholy Hill” reminds me of a John Hughes movie. Some have agreed, while others just don’t see it. But one thing that can be agreed upon is how much this song invokes such a sense of wonder. Perhaps that’s why it reminds me of a John Hughes film so much. Finally, there’s those two Parisian robots. Since I am an avid subscriber to the church of Daft Punk, and preach their gospel at every turn, I always try to find a spot for the duo in most mixes I compile. “One More Time” just feels like an absolute no-brainer.

The Grooveshark player is above, as is the link here, and/or if you have a Spotify account, you can check out the mix here as well.

TRACKLIST

The Bloody Beetroots (feat. Steve Aoki) – Warp 1.9
SebastiAn – Ross Ross Ross
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Black Tongue
The Clash – Straight to Hell
MSTRKRFT (feat. John Legend) – Heartbreaker
Prince – Let’s Go Crazy
Spoon- Don’t You Evah
Friendly Fires – Jump in the Pool
Classixx (feat. Jeppe) – I’ll Get You
Duck Sauce – Barbra Streisand
Friendly Fires – Hawaiian Air
Gorillaz – On Melancholy Hill
Daft Punk – One More Time

RELATED LINKS

eventseekr Shuffle: Take with a Bleach Chaser

eventseekr Shuffle: The Golden Age of the Prog Rock “Epic”

How do you go about compiling your mixtapes and playlists? Come back next Tuesday for our next installment of the eventseekr Shuffle with a new playlist set! Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook for updates on what we’re covering. You can stay on top of exciting events from around the world by downloading the eventseekr app for Android, iPhone or Ovi.

About Joey Pangilinan
I like comics. I read comics. I like movies. I watch movies. I like music. I listen to music. I like to write. I like to write about all this stuff I just mentioned as well as other stuff, too. It's a sick and vicious cycle, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

9 Responses to eventseekr Shuffle: Bright 11-1-11

  1. Pingback: The Best Forgotten Songs of the ’90s – Professional Fans Club

  2. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: House | eventseekr blog

  3. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: Punch It or Hug It? A Playlist of Lovely Assault | eventseekr blog

  4. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: The Best Forgotten Songs of the ’90s | eventseekr blog

  5. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: Slow and Low | eventseekr blog

  6. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle- House « eventseekr

  7. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: Slow and Low « eventseekr

  8. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: Punch It or Hug It? A Playlist of Lovely Assault « eventseekr

  9. Pingback: eventseekr Shuffle: The Best Forgotten Songs of the ’90s « eventseekr

Leave a Reply

