Ladytron- Regency Ballroom 9/25/2011 [Review]

Like some Ladytron fans, it was “Destroy Everything You Touch” that first piqued my interest and turned my head in the band’s direction. If I were a fictional super-villain, this is the song that I would be blaring in my secret headquarters when I finally defeat my nemesis. It may seem like too convenient of a choice, but then again, I’ve just defeated my enemy. I can do whatever the heck I want.

Ladytron. Photo by Joey Pangilinan.

Evil machinations aside, I’ve been a big Ladytron fan ever since I discovered the aforementioned song. I also kept a very keen eye on the band partly because I had not yet had the opportunity to see Ladytron live, so it remained one of those acts that I have been yearning to see.

I pride myself on trying to keep up to date on music news, new releases, and the sort. But a few weeks back, I found out Ladytron had just released its newest album, Gravity the Seducer, and was caught by pleasant surprise. I quickly came across the fact that the band would be playing San Francisco’s Regency Ballroom on September 25th.

“I must be slipping in my old age,” I said to myself when I made this revelation, and I subsequently made plans to make it to this show.

Helen Marnie of Ladytron. Photo by Joey Pangilinan.

There are many music venues in this city, but I had yet to experience the Regency, and by the end of Ladytron’s show, I was quite impressed. However, I think it also had a great deal to do with just how much fun a show Ladytron had put on. Very commanding and very much in control, Helen Marnie’s vocals were just as hypnotic as I would imagine Ian Curtis’ live vocals would be.

Ladytron's Helen Marnie. Photo by Joey Pangilinan.

I am most familiar with Ladytron’s third album, Witching Hour, and couldn’t have been more satisfied when the band opened its set with the album’s “Soft Power” and then “International Dateline.”

Ladytron’s set lasted just short of 90 minutes. So if there was one thing to nit-pick about, it’s that the night felt a little too short. I’m probably a bit greedy for thinking so, but I just felt entitled to a longer set because the band now has five studio albums–I thought that Ladytron would dip a little deeper into its vast back catalog.

Naturally, I was into the swing of the show the whole night, but it wasn’t really until Ladytron performed “Seventeen,” the last song before the encore, that I really got in a dancing mood. Because of that, I would definitely say the band ended the show with a bang. I guess Ladytron just executed the old adage of leaving the audience wanting a little more. In the end, perhaps I just didn’t want the night to end, plain and simple.

Mira Aroyo (left), Reuben Wu (center), Helen Marnie (right). Photo by Joey Pangilinan.

The band performed a two-song encore beginning with one of its newest singles “White Elephant,” and as I expected, the band capped the whole night off with “Destroy Everything You Touch.”

Strutting out of the Regency, I felt that if any of my enemies felt like crossing me on this night, that is if I actually had any enemies, they would surely fall.

Ladytron. Photo by Joey Pangilinan.

RELATED LINKS

Ladytron Official Website

Regency Ballroom Official Website

More Photos of Ladytron at Regency Ballroom 9/25/2011

Did you go to the Ladytron show at the Regency, too? If you want to see where they’ll be playing next, start tracking them on eventseekr.com. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook for updates on what we’re covering. You can stay on top of exciting events from around the world by downloading the eventseekr app for Android, iPhone and Ovi.

About Joey Pangilinan
I like comics. I read comics. I like movies. I watch movies. I like music. I listen to music. I like to write. I like to write about all this stuff I just mentioned as well as other stuff, too. It's a sick and vicious cycle, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

2 Responses to Ladytron- Regency Ballroom 9/25/2011 [Review]

  1. Quatro-Dos says:

    Nice article and it was a great show. I’ve only seen Ladytron live twice now. The first time was back in ’07 when they opened for the Chemical Brothers at the Concourse. I had no idea who they were then but I became an instant fan. I couldn’t miss the chance to see them live again and fortunately I had the night off. It was my first time at the Regency Ballroom as well and I enjoyed the venue. I can’t wait to see them again.

    Nice pix too!

Leave a Reply

