Lollapalooza 2011 Preview

Music festivals like Lollapalooza are experienced a little differently by those of us who are shorter than 5’5”. We are easily lost in a swarming crowd, mistaken for empty spaces in the audience, and bound to end up standing behind a 7’ tall man who will inevitably throw his girlfriend on his shoulders at some point during the show. This generally leads to a night ending in the affirmation “well, at least I could hear the music…” However, thanks to the 20th Anniversary Time Capsule, I discovered that as of 1994, Lolla outlines a particular loophole for us shorties that raises us taller than the rest:  Crowd surfing is prohibited UNLESS you are a certified waif. Woe no more, fellow pint sized music festival lovers.

There's always a Green Man at every festival. Lollapalooza 2010. Photo by Jack Edinger.

I will fight for my right to crowd surf! Well, that is if I was actually going to the festival. Unfortunately Lolla is not in the cards for me this year, but I’ve surveyed the lineup and made a list of who I wish I could be seeing.  It’s really one of the most impressive lineups I’ve ever seen, both in size and quality.

On Friday I’d definitely have to catch Foster The People, an indie dance band who’s been on the internet since 2010 but just about to release their debut album. Next I’d find myself at Perry’s Stage for The Bloody Beetroots Death Crew 77. Ratatat would be a must-see for me. I saw the duo tear it up at Coachella this year, accompanied by some bizarrely sick hipstery visuals. A Perfect Circle and Skrillex are also in consideration for my personal choices. I’m not really one to push and shove my way into the big mainstream headliners’ sets like Eminem and Coldplay or last year’s Lady Gaga, but I think I could find the time to do a bit of certified waif crowd surfing during Muse on Friday night.

On Saturday I couldn’t miss the band Local Natives. They are from my hometown in Orange County, and I’ve watched them evolve since way back in 2008 when they went by the name Cavil at Rest. Also on my list are Black LipsWeen (whose set sadly overlaps with Local Natives), Beats Antique (whose set sadly overlaps with the Glitch Mob, Lykke Li, and Atmosphere), and Pretty Lights, who I hear are quite impressive in their live show.

Erykah Badu. Lollapalooza 2010. Photo by Dave Mead.

Sunday gives me a lot of difficult choices. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart and The Cool Kids play at the exact same time. Later after The Arctic Monkeys, the time slots for Explosions in the Sky and Modeselektor overlap by all but 15 minutes. At the end of the festival, you’d find me dancing the night away at the Bud Light stage for Deadmau5.

If you’re one of the many lucky attendees of Lolla 2011, their website will be a valuable asset for you. They’ve got a custom schedule creator so you can keep track of who you want to see. And if, like me, you’re stuck back at home, the whole thing will be broadcasted live from Grant Park in Chicago on YouTube.

RELATED LINKS

Lollapalooza Official Website

Lollapalooza After Shows

Let us know your thoughts! We’d love to hear from you. Follow us on Twitter. Like us on Facebook. And, if you haven’t already, be sure to stay up to date with exciting events from all over the world by downloading the eventseekr app for Android or iPhone.

About Katie Kopacz
Blog Intern. Creative Writing student at San Francisco State University. When she's not busy with one of the aforementioned occupations, Katie can be found geeking out over good music, good food, conspiracy theories, cats, and well-written words.

Leave a Reply

